Togbe Afede Adjudged Ghana’s Most Outstanding Chief In 2021

Togbe Afede XIV, President of Asogli Traditional Area has emerged as the overall winner of the 2021 Ghana Chieftaincy Awards.

The Agbogbomefia of the Asogli State and former president of the National House of Chiefs received the flagship prize, the Most Outstanding Chief of the year for his contribution to his paramountcy.

The 2021 Ghana Chieftaincy Awards was held on Saturday amidst a rich royal and traditional ambience at the National Cultural Centre in Cape Coast.

The prestigious ceremony attracted close to 40 traditional rulers including paramount chiefs and Queenmothers from across the country.

Togbe Afede wasn’t the only winner at the ceremony.

Nana Agyakoma Dufie II, the Mamponghemaa, also picked the Most Outstanding Queen-mother of the Year.

Togbe Afede Adjudged Ghana’s Most Outstanding Chief In 2021 1

Four chiefs were awarded in the different subcategories in the Paramount chief of the year category.

They included the Omanhen of Owirenkyi Traditional Area, Ahunabobrim Pra Agyensaim VI, Best Paramount chief in Leadership and Governance, Naba Tandegrewogne Kugre Asobayire V, Paramount Chief of Kologo, Best Paramount chief in Promotion of Culture, Naba Asigri Abugrago Azoka II, Paramount Chief of Bawku, Environmental Protection and Sustainability Award and Omanhen of Asebu Traditional Area, Okatakyi Professor Amenfi VII who won the Diaspora Integration Award.

Five Queenmothers were also awarded in the subcategories in the Paramount Queen-mother of the year category.

The Paramount Queen-mother of Assin Attandanso Traditional Area, Nana Abena Gyamfuah II won the Health Promotion Award, Queen-mother of the Mankessim Traditional Area, Nana Ama Amissah III also took home the Promotion of Culture while Queen-mother of Denkyira Traditional Area, Nana Ama Ayensua Saara III was adjudged the Leadership and Governance award.

Queen-mother of Agona Nsaba Traditional Area, Nana Adwoa Nkansah and Queen-mother of Drobo Traditional Area, Nana Yaa Ansuah II won the Entrepreneurship and Innovation Awards respectively. Several others also took various awards for their contributions to society.

Founder of the Ghana Chieftaincy Awards, Nana Obokese Ampah I said “Frankly, my expectations for the night has been met, I hope this ceremony would encourage other Traditional Rulers to work harder to improve lives of their people.”

He added the foundation would put efforts in place to improve upon subsequent events.

The event was organised by the Obokese Foundation to reward Traditional Rulers who were making strides and impacts in their respective jurisdictions and the country at large.

Ghost Blogger

CEO of Riddims Network | Web Designer | Blogger | YouTuber | Promoter | MD at

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.